Brant County Health Unit welcomes four new members to Board of Health

Published on: July 9, 2020

BRANTFORD, ON – The Brant County Health Unit (BCHU) has added four new members to its Board of Health (BOH).

The members include Susan Brown (Provincial Appointee) who will act as the BOH’s Vice-Chair, County of Brant Mayor David Bailey (County Council Appointee), Mario Colombo (Provincial Appointee) and Joy O’Donnell (Provincial Appointee).

Councillor John Bell (County Council Appointee) will move into the role of BOH Chair.

“I’d like to thank our departing BOH members for their commitment to their roles and assisting to support the needs of our community,” said Bell. “I am excited to work with our new members and continue to build on our ongoing efforts to improve the health and well-being of our residents.”

Susan Brown has been a long-time board member, committee member and was the Past Chair of Enterprise Brant. She has also served on numerous local boards and committees, including the Rotary Club of Brantford Sunrise and the Why Not Youth Centre Capital Fundraising Committee.

David Bailey was elected as County of Brant Mayor in 2018. A lifelong resident of the County, Mayor Bailey has been in engaged in civic leadership for over 25 years. 

Mario Colombo has been on the Brant Community Healthcare System (BCHS) Foundation Board and Committees over 10 years.  He currently chairs the BCHS Foundation Board of Directors.

Joy O’Donnell served on the Grand River Conservation Foundation Board for 11 years and worked as Chair in 2015 and 2016. She has also served as President of the Rotary Club of Cambridge North and acted as a board member for the Brantford-Brant Chamber of Commerce.  

In Ontario, each health unit is governed by a Board of Health in accordance with the Health Protection and Promotion Act.

BCHU’s Board of Health is made up of two representatives from the County of Brant, three representatives from the City of Brantford, and up to four representatives appointed by the Province of Ontario.